Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Rabah TABTI DLCA/FLL/UMMTO

Passerelle vers le savoir, la science, la pédagogie, la culture et la démocratie. Mots Clés: DLCA, FLL, UMMTO, Linguistique, Onomastique, Anglais, Cours,TD.

3ème Année Linguistique DLCA

Second Grammar Lesson

The simple future tense:   

1/The forms of the simple future:

The simple future is formed as follows:

will / 'll + verb                                    will = 'll

A/The affirmative form of the simple future:

I, you, he, she, it, we, they         will / ''ll  go.

Examples:

1/I think I'll buy a new computer.                     2/I will open the door. Someone is ringing the bell.

B/The negative form of the simple future:

I, you, he, she, it, we, they          will not   go.

                                                         won't

Examples:

1/I will not stay at home if I finish the homework.            2/I won't visit Big Ben if I go to London.

C/The interrogative form of the simple future:

Will        I, you, he, she, it, we, they          go?

Examples:

1/Will you buy a computer?                                          2/Will you go to the party?

2/The use of the simple future:

1/We use the simple future for instant decisions.

Example: "I've left the door open; I'll close it."

2/We use the simple future, when we predict a future situation:

Example: "She'll pass the exam. She's hardworking"

3/We use the simple future in conditional sentences type one:

Example: "If I have enough time, I'll watch the film."

4. You can use shall instead of will for I and we:

a/I shall play football. (Or, I will play ...)          b/We shall play football. (Or, we will play ...)

5. 'll is the short form of will. You can say either:

a/I will go,                                  or                           b/  I 'll go.

6. Won't is the short form of will not. You can say either:

a/I will not go,                              or                        b/I won't go.

Note: In modern English will is preferred to shall. Shall is mainly used with I and we to make an offer or suggestion, or to ask for advice (see examples above). With the other persons (you, he, she, they) shall is only used in literary or poetic situations

Bibliography:

Peter Dainty, Penguin Grammar Workbook, Level 1 Beginners, Series Editor: Edward Woods, Penguin Books, 1998.

Peter Dainty, Penguin Grammar Workbook, Level 2 Pre-Intermediate, Series Editor: Edward Woods, Penguin Books, 1998.

B.D. Graver, Advanced English Practice, Oxford University Press, 3rd Edition, Printed in Hong Kong, 1986

Match the correct answer

1/If you say that word again, I……… you. (to slap)

(will to slap, will slapping, will slap)

2/If it rains we……….. to the cinema. (to go)

(are going, will go, will going)

3/What…………    on Saturday? (to do)

(are you doing, will you doing, are you do)

4/I………….    you the answer on Sunday. (to give)

(will give, will giving, will to give)

5/I………..    you tonight. (to phone)

(to phone, will phoned, will phone)

6/ ………..  we go? (will/shall/do)

(would,  will, shall)

7/If he isn't here at six, I………..    home. (to go)

(going, will going, will go)

8/What………..    I do? (will/shall/would)

(should, shall, will)

9/I………    it to you on Tuesday. (to send)

(will sent, will send, shall send)

10/I ………..  smoking. (to give up)

(will give up, will going to give up, am going to give up)

Generated from:

https://www.facile-anglais.com/index.php/exercices-quiz-test-anglais/344-6-le-futur-simple-future-simple-niveau-2

Partager cet article
Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article